Reality Check, or Why I Cancelled My Playstation 4 Preorder

PS4

Anyone who knows me will know I’ve been quite excited about the PS4. I loved the controller when I got the chance to play with one at Eurogamer, I really liked the idea of smooth, 1080p/60FPS gameplay in my living room, and I was completely behind the Sony ethos – that the PS4 was a gaming machine, and wasn’t trying to court the all-in-one entertainment demographic that the Xbox One was chasing.

With all that in mind, it may come as quite a surprise that I’ve just closed an Amazon tab, in which I cancelled my pre-order of the Playstation 4/Killzone Shadowfall bundle. A pre-order which I have held since July.

It wasn’t because of the money, it wasn’t because I don’t think it’ll be any good, and it certainly wasn’t because I’ve decided to jump ship and buy an Xbox, despite the latter console having evolved into a reasonable (if still definitively inferior) piece of kit over the last few months. The PS4 still looks like an incredible console, but it’s just not one that I need in my life at the moment. To be perfectly honest, I don’t think either of the next-gen consoles actually have enough games on them to be worth playing.

On the Xbox side, you’ve got games like Ryse: Son Of Rome and Dead Rising 3. Ryse is, reportedly, pretty rubbish, being essentially a third-person hack ‘n slash version of a Call of Duty game, right down to the inclusion of a coastal invasion that I’m going to have to call Romeaha Beach, because the pun was too strong not to use. I do enjoy a bit of Dead Rising, but it’s certainly not a system seller for me.

Killzone-Shadow-Fall2

Then on the PS4, you’ve got Knack, which is apparently a bit shit, and Killzone, which does look like fun, but possibly the sort of fun I’d expect to pay £15 for in a Steam sale, not £380. Really, had I left my pre-order in place, I’d have been playing nothing but that and the pretty-looking side-scroller Resogun until February or so.

All the games I’m most looking forward to – Assassin’s Creed 4, Watchdogs, The Division – all of them are coming out on PC as well, and most likely at a reduced price. The only exception is Destiny, which I don’t believe has been announced for PC yet, but that’s a long way off.

I’m not saying I’m never going to buy a PS4, and I’m certainly not saying that you shouldn’t – I am in a relatively privileged position in that I have a PC powerful enough to run the various cross-platform games, which clearly not everybody will have. But even so, the vast majority of the games you’re really going to want the system for have been delayed.

You want my honest consumer advice? Wait until March or so. The initial firmware problems that these things always have will have been ironed out, and you’ll probably be able to pick up a decent bundle with a few games you actually want to play.

I know that’s what I’m doing.

One response to “Reality Check, or Why I Cancelled My Playstation 4 Preorder

  1. Pingback: Nintendo 3DS XL – First Impressions | Benjamin 'Games' Rose

Leave a Reply

