Do Not Read

do-not-touch

Best described as some kind of crowd-sourced, vaguely interactive music video, Do Not Touch isn’t even really a game. But it did leave me grinning from ear to ear, and that’s good enough for me.

Some of the best moments will probably be spoiled easily, so I suggest you run through it before reading on. Go on, It’ll only take a few minutes. I’ll wait.

Wasn’t that lovely? To me, it felt a bit like a dance – at once structured and chaotic. It didn’t matter that everyone else’s movements were merely recordings, it felt live. Of course, it isn’t without its flaws, but even the people who flagrantly ignore the instructions on the screen add personality – I particularly love the “Don’t touch the model” segment, where a band of rogue censors/opportunist gropers ensure that her nipples remain covered throughout.

The song isn’t exactly the sort of thing I’d listen to normally, but the fact that I’m interacting with it – and other listeners – in such a unique way did actually convert me somewhat. It’s an interesting experiment into play, rather than gaming – there’s no fail state, and the video will carry on to the end regardless, but simply taking part is a joy.

The song around which all of this is based is Kilo, by Amsterdam-based band Light Light. The video itself is by Moniker, also from Amsterdam, and I’m quite keen to explore their site a little further, in case there are any more little gems like this lying around.

Leave a Reply

