Rezzed 2013 – What I Didn’t Like

IMG_1973

Sadly, nothing in life is perfect and so, being that it occured in real life, neither was this weekend’s Rezzed convention. I’ve already written about some of the things I enjoyed, but I do need to get a few gripes off my chest.

If I’m honest (which I do try to be) I found this year’s show to be quite disappointing, as compared to last year. It’s possible that I’m just looking back with rose-tinted spectacles – after all, last year’s Rezzed was my first ever games convention – but I’m far from the only person to express the sentiment. I didn’t even end up staying for the full second day, having pretty much exhausted all of the games I wanted to play in the first day.

That’s not to say there weren’t some great games, because there were, and I’ll be talking more about those later, but none of them felt special. There was nothing really comparable to the beautifully viral way in which Hotline Miami totally stole the show last year. The 18+ section was, in all honesty, pretty pathetic.

There were only two games on offer; Company Of Heroes 2, which is currently in open beta on Steam and therefore not new in any sense, and Splinter Cell: Blacklist, a series I lost interest in the moment I finished Chaos Theory. Last year, we had Far Cry 3, Borderlands 2 and Aliens: Colonial Marines (multiplayer only, obviously).

IMG_1980

I probably sound harsh. I certainly had a lot of fun this year, with games like Shadow Warrior, Hotline Miami 2 and Space Hulk drawing large crowds, but never did I feel like I was discovering something new and incredible. I suppose this is a side-effect of the new console generation, as all the really exciting AAA stuff will almost certainly be tightly controlled, but it really felt like they were struggling to fill booths in some areas. I have no idea why already established games like Planetside 2 and Surgeon Simulator 2013 were given such large areas – Planetside 2 in particular is completely free to play, so why anyone would spend £15 on a Rezzed ticket, plus travel costs, to play something that they could play on their home PC for free is anybody’s guess.

Still, despite all this, I’m glad I went. As I said in my previous post, these events are always lots of fun. Hopefully next year’s will be a little more exciting, given the new technology that’s coming out between now and then – Oculus Rift, Leap Motion, the new consoles…

I’m excited already.

Leave a Reply

